"A vegetarian does not eat any meat, poultry, game, fish, shellfish or crustacea, or the by-products of slaughter"
Vegetarian Society



Monday, 18 June 2012

Vegetarians fed a fast one with meat by-products found in some of their dishes

Do you want some meat with your vegetarian dish? Consumer group Choice tested the vegetarian menus of fast food outlets and found some contain animal by-products. 

 
One of those was rennet, which comes from the stomachs of calves and is often used to produce cheese.

Choice looked at 80 vegetarian items on the menus of Domino's, Go Sushi, Hungry Jack's, Nando's, Noodle Box, Oporto, Pizza Hut, Subway and Sumo Salad.

Hungry Jack's told Choice the cheese in its Veggie Burger may contain rennet and the mayonnaise contains egg - but the burger was not marketed as being vegetarian.

Subway's cheese also contains rennet but its vegetarian menu options do not come with cheese - it is added by request. Domino's said there were no animal by-products in its mozzarella cheese.

Choice spokeswoman Ingrid Just said strict vegetarians were not always getting a strict vegetarian product at fast food chains: "You can't assume non-meat menu items are suitable for strict vegetarians."

Ms Just said Oporto, Nando's and Pizza Hut did not respond to the survey, so the watchdog could not guarantee their ingredients were free of animal by-products.

KFC and Red Rooster declined to take part because vegetarian options are not what they primarily offer, while McDonald's was ruled out because it doesn't have a vegetarian range on its regular menu.



I'm not totally shocked by this, when you ask in a fast food place or restaurant if the cheese is vegetarian you normally just get a glazed look

No comments:

Post a Comment