"A vegetarian does not eat any meat, poultry, game, fish, shellfish or crustacea, or the by-products of slaughter"
Vegetarian Society



Friday, 23 August 2013

14 Animal-Free Foods That Are Not Vegetarian

(from http://www.greenprophet.com)

Last night at dinner, two seasoned lacto vegetarians exchanged an ingredient slap-down about seemingly animal-free foods that really aren’t. My friends talk endlessly about vegetarianism. They can be evangelical, comical and tedious. Don’t hear me wrong.  I’m omnivorous, but eat mostly plants. I love eatingand I love eating with friends, but I hate talking about what my friends and I are eating.  But this conversation was an eye-opener.
 
Animal products often hide in processed foods. As example, dairy derivatives whey and casein, included in commercial baked goods, may be acceptable to vegetarians but avoided by vegans. Where you draw the line is a personal choice, but those choices need to be informed.

How many of these veggie-imposters surprise you?

Read Full List and Story Here 

No comments:

Post a Comment